AKC Outstanding Sportsman Award

As stated by AKC: In the American Kennel Club’s ongoing efforts to recognize and celebrate its volunteer club members, the AKC Outstanding Sportsmanship Award program was established in 2006 to provide each member club with an AKC Medallion to award to one of its own on a yearly basis.
This award honors those individuals who deserve special recognition that have made a difference in the sport of purebred dogs, embodied the AKC Code of Sportsmanship, and have been an active and valued member of an AKC member club.

In 2013, the NBTC donated a commemorative statue designed by Damara Bolte in memory of Bob Naun to be called The Bob Naun Memorial AKC Outstanding Sportsmanship Award.
The NBTC raised most of the funds for the statue and shipping container with the balance being paid for by the BTCA.

The recipients of The AKC Outstanding Sportsmanship Award each year receive a commemorative Bob Naun Memorial plate along with the framed AKC Medallion.

BTCA’S Recipients of The AKC Outstanding Sportsmanship Award:

  • 2010 Jo Ann Frier-Murza
  • 2011 Bob Naun
  • 2012 Laurale Stern
  • 2013 Marg Pough
  • 2014 Pam Dyer
  • 2015 Debra Janes Blake
  • 2016 Lyn Bolt
  • 2017 Jeff and Laura Hauenstein
  • 2018 Susan Storey
  • 2019 Barbara Steinbacher Dalane
  • 2020 D’Arcy Downs-Vollbracht
  • 2021 Ruth Ann Naun
  • 2022 Lisa Jack
  • 2023 Susan Friedenberg
  • 2024 Teresa Parquer-Vargas