The BTCA Awards

Versatility Award

Border Terriers are active and versatile dogs. They were bred to have the skills and drive to excel in the field, and are happiest when working closely with their owners. Modern day Borders and their owners use these skills to compete in the many dogs sports available today. To recognize and preserve these traits and to encourage owners to enjoy them, the BTCA offers the Versatility Awards, which reward participation in a variety of dog activities.

The Versatility Award is designed so that the average Border and owner, with some effort, can earn one. It asks for one title in three different fields, and a total of seven points. About thirty Borders earn a Versatility Award each year. Many go on to earn the Versatility Excellent Award, which requires twelve points, four fields including a working title, and considerable commitment from dog and owner. As a conformation title is not required, these awards are open to the pet as well as the champion and a number of pet Borders have Versatility and Versatility Excellent Awards. It is not surprising that most dogs are five and six years old before they earn a Versatility Award. To apply for a Versatility Award, see the instructions on the application form in the Border Connection or on this website.

For more information, contact:

Leslie Sprando
Versatility Awards Coordinator
442 Eureka Church Road,
Statesboro, GA 30461-7671

We invite you to send a digital photo of your dog to the BTCA Database Manager for inclusion in this list.

Thanks to the hard work of one volunteer, the scanned records from 1993 thru 2002 have been retyped and have been added – in some cases, the original files were very hard to read, so if you spot a typo please contact Pam

Register of Merit Awards

The BTCA Register of Merit program was developed to honor Border Terrier sires and dams that have produced a specific number of champion offspring. In order to receive an ROM, a BTCA member must submit an application that verifies the record of the get as well as the health clearances for the dog that is being submitted. At the annual Awards Banquet the owner of the ROM recipient is given an engraved medallion as well as a certificate in recognition of the achievement.

Here is the Register of Merit Application for you to print: ???

You can also browse a list of ROM awards from 1970 to the present here: ROM Records

Versatility Register of Merit Awards

The Versatility Register of Merit (VROM) celebrates the versatility and working aspects of our breed and rewards sires and dams for producing a specific number of Versatility or Versatility Excellent offspring. To receive this award, a BTCA member must submit the application to a designate of the Versatility Committee who will verify the record of the get and the required health clearances of the sire/dam being honored. Please note that a required percentage of the get must have achieved a field title. The owner of the VROM recipient will receive an engraved medallion and a certificate at the annual Awards Banquet.

For information, contact:
Cathy Meyer
11915 Kentucky Derby
Montgomery, TX 77316
Tel: 281-798-4531 or 936-597-7170

Please right click on the link to access the Versatility Register of Merit Award application.
DOWNLOAD Portable Document Format (.pdf)

You can also browse a list of VROM awards here: VROM Records

AKC Outstanding Sportsman Award

As stated by AKC: In the American Kennel Club’s ongoing efforts to recognize and celebrate its volunteer club members, the AKC Outstanding Sportsmanship Award program was established in 2006 to provide each member club with an AKC Medallion to award to one of its own on a yearly basis.
This award honors those individuals who deserve special recognition that have made a difference in the sport of purebred dogs, embodied the AKC Code of Sportsmanship, and have been an active and valued member of an AKC member club.

In 2013, the NBTC donated a commemorative statue designed by Damara Bolte in memory of Bob Naun to be called The Bob Naun Memorial AKC Outstanding Sportsmanship Award.
The NBTC raised most of the funds for the statue and shipping container with the balance being paid for by the BTCA.

The recipients of The AKC Outstanding Sportsmanship Award each year receive a commemorative Bob Naun Memorial plate along with the framed AKC Medallion.

BTCA’S Recepients of The AKC Outstanding Sportsmanship Award:

  • 2010 Jo Ann Frier-Murza
  • 2011 Bob Naun
  • 2012 Laurale Stern
  • 2013 Marg Pough
  • 2014 Pam Dyer
  • 2015 Debra Janes Blake
  • 2016 Lyn Bolt
  • 2017 Jeff and Laura Hauenstein
  • 2018 Susan Storey